Craving – Pregnancy and what it brings!

Before I fell pregnant I had always heard about pregnant women craving random flavours and foods at silly hours of the day. I never really understood what that meant or how the women felt, until it happened to me.

When I fell pregnant it was the best day of my life! I was so excited and literally bursting with joy. However, within about a month or so the cravings kicked in. I remember for the first three months all I wanted was sparkling water, oranges and ‘Chilli Heatwave’ flavoured Doritos crisps. My husband would pick me up after work at the station or after dance practice and waited with a bag of Doritos and a bottle of sparkling water for me. I can’t quite describe how that craving felt but I just knew I really, REALLY needed it.

Soon after 3 months those cravings began to die down but oranges kept creeping up now and then. Then kicked in the cravings for pizza. At 3am I woke my husband up and made him search the internet for late night takeaway pizza that would still be open. I made him order a large pizza, which I vowed to not share with him and eagerly waited for the doorbell to ring. When it finally arrived, I ran (as fast as I could at this point) down the stairs and grabbed the pizza box. Obviously, I had to share some of the pizza with my husband but it was the best pizza ever and I couldn’t really complain at that time of the morning. Feeling happy and satisfied, I fell asleep very easily. Till the very end of my pregnancy I had random cravings for different foods, such as olives and pickles but none that ever lasted for so long.

However, despite the cravings for the food, it was the intensity of the cravings which really scared me at times. Sometimes, just thinking about the food made my mouth water and I wanted it instantly and couldn’t wait a second longer. It was like it took over my mind completely and that was all that I could think about. It was such a strong craving and it got me really upset when I couldn’t get what I wanted. It is very difficult to describe that intensity but it was all that I ever wanted. Cravings and pregnancy, I totally understand it now.
Craving

About blogmylife86

I am a new young mum to a beautiful baby girl. I have a PhD in Medicinal Chemistry but have a passion for writing. Whilst on maternity leave I have been working on this website and I am proud to say it is now ready to go live.
This entry was posted in The Daily Post Prompt Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

